Kingdom of the Wicked

This book!! LOVE!! LOVE!! LOVE!!

First off, Kerri Maniscalco is an amazing writer and I loved every single book she has ever written. If you haven’t read Jack the Ripper series, you need to right away. Absolutely fell in love with that world just as I have fallen in love with her new one.

This book revolves around two twin witches who were raised to believe that the princes of Hell were the Wicked. Evil. Sinful. Will take your soul with their charms and their looks. You know, the usual “Devil’s evil,” blah, blah blah, type of stuff. So when Emilia’s twin sister, Vittoria, is brutally murdered, Emilia vows that she will find her murderer and make them pay. Especially if they are one of the Wicked.

So she starts her research and accidentally end up summoning one of the evil princes, Wrath. He claims that he’s only there to find out who has been murdering witches, but Emilia instantly doesn’t trust him. But like all stories, she finds herself working with him to uncover the truth.

Let’s talk about Prince Wrath. I don’t know what it is about Italian men (Book takes place in Italy, by the way) but wow! Maniscalco made an “evil” being sound like a dream. He also has tattoos which is another plus for me. But what I love most about this story was that Emilia was rude, direct, bold and stood her ground with him. She didn’t let herself be intimidated by him. I love characters like that! While I was reading I was like, “You go, girl! Tell that devilishly handsome prince off!”

Overall, this one is a five star for me. I loved the characters, the description, the imagery. It was all beautiful. And for some reason, I love characters who are supposed to be evil, but then they do really sweet things. Like caring for another being. Or saving someone’s life. It makes you conflicted while reading the whole story. This is a book I would read again and again and again.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑