Hard Lessons

When we transition from kid to teen to adulthood, we learn some pretty hard lessons. Let’s face it, we get kicked down a lot. Especially turning from a teen to an adult. I’m almost thirty and I still feel like I have so much to learn. Some lessons we learn through experience and others we learn from our parents.

There were two lessons that my mom taught me without meaning to.

One, keep your friend circle small and two, don’t fall in love easily.

I’ve seen my mom have some shitty friends. She would go to the moon and back for them, but they’ve never returned the favor. My mom is the kind of person that was there when you needed her, but when she needed someone, no one was there.

I am lucky enough to have the friends that I do. My circle is small, but I’ve been blessed to have people who put up with all my craziness. They help me, support me and are always there when I need them. They became my family.

Lesson number two, that was a hard one to watch. Giving everything to a guy where you end up losing yourself in the end. My mom used to write and draw and gave me her creative talent, but I realize that when someone you “love” comes into your life, they can become a parasite, sucking all that life right out of you.

When I think about it now, I see that my mom was a selfless person. Always trying to help others, but that’s the problem. Sometimes, when it comes to you and your well-being, you need to be selfish. You need to know when enough is enough and let go.

So thank you to my mother who taught me two of life’s hard lessons through observation. Even now, there’s still people out there who struggle with these lessons.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑