A Devil’s Deal by Rin Navarro (Me)

This is the preview of my book, A devil’s Deal! Check it out guys! It’s on Amazon!!

The Beginning

First of all, nobody is perfect. Let’s get that straight right now. Second of all, people shouldn’t judge others. Now that we got those two things established.…I sold my soul to the devil. Don’t judge! Remember, everybody makes mistakes. Mine was just the worst fucking mistake anybody could make in life, but a mistake nonetheless. The stupid thing was that I did it for a guy. Not fame, not fortune, though that was part of the deal, but mainly to be with a guy. A guy that I loved. Keyword: loved. Past tense. He didn’t love me as much as I thought he did.

              Let me back up a little bit. The year was 1820 and that was the year I laid my eyes on the most beautiful man ever. James Harrington. A Texan soldier who came from a strong, wealthy family. I was just a young Mexican girl who was the daughter of a rancher. A poor rancher. Pretty obvious where this story is heading now. He swore he loved me, wrote letters to me all the time claiming how strong his devotion was, but said that we could never be together based on my financial background. Long story short, I met the devil in a saloon and made a deal to become rich in exchange for my soul, and I would therefore have the love of my life.

Once I became rich, we were married, but sadly, all of that money didn’t make him faithful. I fell into a depressive state and ended up hanging myself, prepared to face the terms of my deal. Now, to be perfectly blunt, I was expecting hell. Fire and brimstone and whatnot, but instead everything was dark. Not even a flicker of light. I mean, come on! I lost everything and was ready to serve out my part of the deal in years of eternal damnation, but there was nothing. I didn’t know how long I was there. Time didn’t exist in that place, but eventually he showed up. The distinguished man in the cowboy hat. The devil. I had hundreds of questions, naturally. Where am I? Why am I here? What’s going on? And he dismissed them all, of course, but told me that I proved to be interesting. One thing about the devil is that he loves a good show. Apparently, I didn’t give him enough of one when I decided to cut my lights off early.

Once again, I found myself making another deal, except this time I was doing it to save my soul. So what’s the deal now? Simple, do what has been done to me. I have to find a poor sucker, get them to fall in love with me, kill them with a broken heart and their soul replaces mine in my old deal. There’s also this time limit of two hundred years that I have to watch out for, so I get to be “immortal” until I get the replacement soul. Sounds easy, right?

Wrong. It’s not that I fall in love with these guys. Trust me, James was enough for my heart to handle. The problem was that I couldn’t find a good candidate. I didn’t want a good guy to screw over. No, I needed a real jerk, someone that I wouldn’t mind giving their soul to evil incarnate. But all the guys I catch are nothing like my first love. Their nice, sweet, fall in love with me till I run out and find the next one. It was really hard to find an asshole. The year is 2020 and my 200-year limit is about up. So far, I’d been playing around with only three real serious relationships that I ended before my guilty conscience came in. I already made peace with the fact that I wasn’t going to be able to save my soul. And don’t even start thinking that at the last minute I was going to find a guy, fall in love, and somehow end up saving myself in the end. This isn’t that kind of story.

Another thing I’ve come to realize over my extension of two hundred years is that I think I was born in the wrong lifetime. You would think that a young Texan girl from the early 1800s would ignore the sins of the growing world and focus on her task. Yeah, right. The rest of the 1800s went by in a blur. In fact, after I offed myself, I didn’t exactly jump into this new deal right away. I spent years still in a depressed state before the timer went off in my head. Every guy in my Texan home looked and sounded just like my James. I had to leave. The 1900s were extremely interesting. Almost died on the Titanic (lost a few good candidates on there), partied hard in the Roaring Twenties, nearly starved in the thirties, died too many times in the forties because of the stupid war, met a really good guy in the fifties (ran out of there real quick), lived through another stupid war in the sixties, and the seventies…well, that decade was one big high memory. I rocked the Madonna look in the eighties and the nineties were all about partying with military guys until I woke up with my head in the toilet.

              When the first “End of the World” was coming for us in 2000, I made a New Year’s resolution that night that I was going to finish this deal and free my soul. I’d had enough fun for one century. It was time to buckle down and finish what I started. One year passed, then another, and another. It was really hard for me to concentrate on the important things. Then the second “End of the World” came in 2012. Another year, and another. The world was growing, building new attractions and sights with awesome music, movies, and nightlife. When you can’t stay dead and you have an enormous amount of money, of course you’re going to have some fun.

Now I’m at the end of my bargain. I know I fucked up and fooled around too much, but if it counts for anything, I really was trying this last year. I even met somebody, but he’s kind of a dick and not in the way I wanted…

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑